Victoria Harbour/July 10, 2014 – Mayor Scott Warnock from the Township of Tay, on behalf of the Huronia Economic Alliance, is pleased to announce the appointment of the inaugural Board of Directors for the newly established Economic Development Corporation of North Simcoe.

The Corporation will be governed by a Board of Directors comprised of eleven individuals; six appointed from the general public, one representative from the North Simcoe Community Futures Development Corporation (NSCFDC) and an elected representative appointed from each of the Townships of Tay and Tiny and the Towns of Midland and Penetanguishene.

The Huronia Economic Alliance advertised for individuals interested in serving on the newly created economic development corporation. “We were pleased with both the number and quality of individuals from our area who wished to play a role in helping to grow the economy of north Simcoe County,” said Mayor Warnock. “I am pleased to announce the following individuals have agreed to serve on the Board.”

The six members at large:

Clarence Boudreau, Kevin Cowie, Douglas Ewen, Pierre Paul Maurice, Roy Ellis and Marisa De Zotti;

Chris Johnston representing the NSCFDC;
The Township of Tay Mayor Scott Warnock;
The Township of Tiny Councillor Andre Claire;
The Town of Midland Councillor Glenn Canning;
The Town of Penetanguishene (TBA);

“On behalf of the H.E.A., I would like to thank the members of the candidate search committee comprised of Robert Morton, John Zurakowski, Robert McLaughlin and Ross Cooper for all their work in helping to establish the inaugural board,” stated Mayor Warnock.