The Economic Development Corporation of North Simcoe appoints Economic Development Officer.

The Board of Directors of the Economic Development Corporation of North Simcoe (EDCNS) today announced the appointment of Sharon Vegh (Economic Development Officer) to work with the Board to implement the Economic Strategy in the four municipalities of Midland, Penetanguishene, Tay and Tiny commencing on August 18, 2014.

Sharon is a seasoned economic development professional experienced internationally (Senior Consultant, Finpro/Consulate of Finland) and in the GTA, supporting the nine York Region Municipalities (Manager, Economic Strategy). She was Director of an international business development firm, LS Market Strategy.  Sharon is a Board Director with the Canada-Finland Chamber of Commerce and Xact Solutions Group, Inc.  She has a BA in Political Science and a Master of Library and Information Studies from McGill University.

Sharon is responsible for coordinating the implementation of the Economic Development Strategic Action Plan; taking a lead role in activities and initiatives that will attract investment and business opportunities to the North Simcoe (County) area and actively supporting (and/or leading) business retention and expansion activities that will increase local employment in the region leading to growth and sustainability.

The EDCNS Board is committed to building a vibrant and sustainable economy, sharing information and ideas and forming strong linkages and networks within the North Simcoe region.  Chris Johnston, Chair of the Hiring Committee commented “The EDCNS Board is dedicated to fostering a business ecosystem that enables businesses and organizations to retain and create jobs that contribute to the continued development of a productive and prosperous business climate. I am encouraged to see the region working together cooperatively to positively impact not only each community partner’s interests but also those of North Simcoe as a whole.”

As of August 18, 2014, Sharon can be reached at (705) 526-1371, extension 114 or by email at


The EDCNS Board of Directors was established in 2014 and is composed of 11 members including one appointee each from the Town of Midland, the Town of Penetanguishene, the Township of Tay and the Township of Tiny; 6 members were selected by the Nomination Committee and 1 member was appointed by North Simcoe CFDC.  EDCNS is located in the offices of the North Simcoe Community Futures Development Corporation (NSCFDC) in Midland, ON.

Media Inquires:
Christopher Johnston
Chair, EDCNS Hiring Committee
(705) 526-1371, extension 117